Artes Mundi 8 Open Call for nominations

Date posted: April 4, 2017

Nominations for the largest art prize in the UK are open.

20161020_PollyThomas_ArtesMundi_014clear of dates

Nominations are invited for the Artes Mundi 8 Exhibition and Prize. Nominations can be for artists of any age, from anywhere in the world. The artists must be currently active and making work and they should already be well known in their own country or region. Usually they will have some experience of exhibiting internationally, whether they are just emerging or firmly established.

Artes Mundi was established in 2002 as an exhibition and prize which explores the human condition. To be shortlisted for the Artes Mundi Prize artists must create work that directly engages with people’s everyday lives and experiences, exploring contemporary social issues from across the globe in a way that resonates both locally and internationally. Every nomination received will be reviewed by a panel of independent selectors who will choose a shortlist of artists to take part in the biennial exhibition. All nominations received will be reviewed by an independent panel of selectors. We are delighted to announce Alia Swastika (Curator and Writer), Daniela Pérez (independent Curator) and Nick Aikens (Curator, Van Abbemuseum)  as selectors for Artes Mundi 8.

Artes Mundi 8 will take place in Cardiff, the capital city of Wales, from late 2018 to early 2019 and the winning artist will receive a prize of 40,000 GBP.

In January 2017, the British artist John Akomfrah won the Artes Mundi 7 Prize. Upon receiving the prize the artist said: “I am absolutely touched by this and enormously grateful for the chance it offers to finally finish off something I have been planning for over a decade. Over the years, Artes Mundi has chosen some very brilliant artists for this award:  all were important artists doing challenging and engaged work, and to join that group is a huge honour and responsibility.”

Oliver Basciano, Editor of ArtReview and Artes Mundi 7 Judging Chair has said: “We are excited to award John Akomfrah the Artes Mundi7 prize in recognition of his extraordinary contribution to art over the past eight years. We do so in recognition of both his newly-presented work Auto Da Fé (2016) and in appreciation of the artist’s ability to tell stories with historical depth, exploring social and political concerns through exquisite cinematic language in films such as Peripteia (2012), Unfinished Conversation (2013), Vertigo Sea (2015). Over his long career, Akomfrah’s practice underlines how art has the unique ability to reflect on and shape the human condition, in alignment with fundamental principles of Artes Mundi.”

Karen Mackinnon, Artes Mundi Director and Curator said: “Artes Mundi champions leading contemporary artists, from across the world, whose work relates to every aspect of our personal lives in a global society. Artes Mundi’s focus on the human condition finds a unique resonance in these uncertain times.”


Nominations for Artes Mundi 8 can be made by curators, artists, writers, critics, gallerists, art historians, or by anybody who is involved in or interested in the visual arts. But they must be made through the Artes Mundi website at

DEADLINE EXTENDED:  17:00 GMT on 29th May 2017.


For all press enquiries please contact:

Catarina Martins McSherry ¦ ¦ 0044 (0)29 2055 5300


Notes to Editors:


About Artes Mundi

Artes Mundi is an international arts organisation based in Cardiff, UK. Established in 2002, Artes Mundi is committed to supporting ground breaking, international, contemporary, visual artists whose work engages with social reality and lived experience.  Artes Mundi Exhibition and prize takes place biennially, running a sustained programme of outreach and learning projects alongside the public exhibition and prize giving.

Artes Mundi is publicly funded by the Arts Council of Wales and by Cardiff City Council.


Previous winners of the Artes Mundi Prize

Previous winners include Theaster Gates (2015), Teresa Margolles (2012), Yael Bartana (2010), N S Harsha (2008), Eija-Liisa Ahtila (2006) and Xu Bing (2004).


Contact Us | Terms of Use | Trademarks | Privacy Statement
Copyright 2013 Artes Mundi. All Rights Reserved

Design by