Open call for nominations

Open call for nominations for Artes Mundi 10 Exhibition and Prize 


Deadline: 14 February 2022 *Nominations have now closed*


Marking the start of its 20th year anniversary, Artes Mundi announces the call to nominate artists for AM10 from 2 December 2021 until 14 February 2022. 


Artes Mundi is the flagship international visual arts organisation for Wales based in Cardiff, UK. Established in 2002, the acclaimed Artes Mundi exhibition and prize run alongside an ambitious public programme plus co-creative partnerships, commissions and community projects, that signal our commitment to working with contemporary visual artists, internationally and locally, whose work engages with social reality and lived experience. 


Nominations for AM10 can be made by anyone who is interested or involved in visual arts. They must be made by using the form via the link below.  



Questions and answers to help you with the process



Artists of any age and from anywhere in the world are eligible. While it is expected that artists will be well known in their own country or region, it is anticipated they will have some experience of exhibiting internationally, whether they are considered emerging or established. 


Every nomination received will be reviewed by an independent jury to be announced in January. They will work with Artes Mundi to select artists for the biennial exhibition who also form a shortlist for the AM10 Prize. The winning artist will receive 40,000 GBP. 


For the tenth edition, due to launch in spring/ summer 2023, Artes Mundi is delighted to announce the Bagri Foundation as the Presenting Partner. This collaboration will be the Foundations first major partnership within the UK outside of London and marks a significant milestone for both organisations. 


Artes Mundi and the Bagri Foundation share a commitment to support international contemporary visual arts practice and elevate dialogue surrounding the connections between local and global issues. 


Centred on the ongoing examination of the ‘Human Condition’, the AM10 anniversary edition will continue the legacy of presenting exceptional work in Wales to generate unique opportunities for individuals and communities to engage creatively with the urgent issues of our times and in ways which resonate with us all. 


Previous Artes Mundi Prize winners include Firelei Báez, Dineo Seshee Bopape, Meiro Koizumi, Beatriz Santiago Muñoz, Prabhakar Pachpute and Carrie Mae Weems (2021); Apichatpong Weerasethakul (2019)John Akomfrah (2017); Theaster Gates (2015); Teresa Margolles (2012); Yael Bartana (2010); N S Harsha (2008); Eija-Liisa Ahtila (2006) and Xu Bing (2004). 


Artes Mundi also partners with Amguedda Cymru – National Museum Wales to acquire work for the national collection of contemporary art for Wales from each edition of the biennial exhibition. 


Previous Derek Williams Trust Artes Mundi Purchase Prize recipients include Prabhakar Pachpute (2021); Anna Boghiguian (2019); Bedwyr Williams (2017); Ragnar Kjartansson (2015); Tania Bruguera (2012); Olga Chernysheva (2010); Lisa Abdul and Mircea Cantor (2008); Eija Liisa Ahtila and Mauricio Dias & Walter Riedweg (2006); Berni Searle (2004). 


For all press enquiries please contact: 

Elena Huntley: | T +44 (0)300 7777 300 


Presenting Partner